Our Journey Together

Sarah was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s over a decade ago.  The tears rolled down my cheeks as we were listening to the doctor explain the results of his testing.  I heard very little of what he said after hearing the word Alzheimer’s.  It was not a surprise.  But, before the tears were dry on my face I knew in my heart that this journey would be one we would embrace together.

God had brought us together many years ago for His Purpose.  Over the years He has challenged us, but through prayer and obedience to His Will He has provided the answers and the strength we needed to overcome many obstacles.  This one would prove to be the biggest challenge we ever encountered, but with His Grace we faced it head on.  Little did I know what a challenge it would be.  The key I knew would be prayer and following His Will.

James 1:2-4 (NIV)  “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.  Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything”.

I have been considering doing a blog for many months.  I know it will help me express myself, but more importantly I hope it will encourage and maybe help other caregivers.  I do not know how often I will write as it depends on the daily responsibilities I have.  I called it “Sarah’s Alzheimer’s Diary” , but it will be retrospective as so much time has passed since her diagnosis.

Initially, I know many situations can be overwhelming.  They were to me.  I hope many of the “trials” I experienced and overcame can help other caregivers.  The blog will not be focused only on the “disease” and care of my wife, but also on the many funny and happy situations we have experienced.

My main focus will be to stay true to the title of this blog which is “Still Sarah”.  Alzheimer’s may have MASKED many of Sarah’s characteristics, attributes or her personality at times, but SHE IS STILL SARAH to me.  Now, the tears of sorrow are coupled more with tears of JOY.  PRAISE GOD.

 

3 thoughts on “Our Journey Together

  1. Ronnie, I met Sarah once at a reunion,unfortunately I never got to know her more.
    I knew enough to see she was a special person!
    My mother-in-law has demention .
    You,Sarah and your love are an inspiration to all of us!
    May God continue His work in both of you and we will continue to pray for both of you!
    Sylvia Jackovitch- Kallay

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words. Sarah was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s about 12 years ago and became bed-ridden about 3 1/2 yrs ago. I take care of her at home. She always took care of me throughout our marriage and now it is my turn to help her as much as I can.

      I am sorry to hear about your mother-in-law. What is her name so I can pray for her and her caregivers. Thank you for your prayers for both of us.

      It is really good to hear from you. I will keep in touch thru e-mail or facebook.

      Like

Leave a Reply

